Second Gear – Royal Arrow (1940)

8 Mar


5 Responses to “Second Gear – Royal Arrow (1940)”

  1. T. Munk March 9, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    Excellent second (or first) typewriter, you will never regret picking up a 40’s Royal in good shape.

    as for a tiny portable, I’d recommend the Lettera over the SF or a plastic Royal, but you might consider the lowly 50’s Smith-Corona Skyriter for pure super-portable typing pleasure. (or a Hermes Rocket, if you can find one relatively cheap).

    • Harry Cordner March 9, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

      Lettera is definitely priority one now. The Royal only got a mention because it was at the same store as the Arrow. And you’re right, I should have added the Hermes Rocket to that list. If I see either one of those in person I’ll probably bite.

      • T. Munk March 9, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

        also look for Rocket clones, such as the Empire Aristocrat. Sometimes you can pick these up way cheaper than Hermes Rockets/Babys, because not as many people bother to search ebay for them. I picked mine up for around $20 + shipping, with nobody bidding against me, when Rockets were going for upwards of $75-$100 with lots of bidders.

  2. Rj May 7, 2011 at 1:14 am #

    Hey Harry love the blog, I just got started on typewriters myself. I think I found a new addiction. I found the same model you have at a thriftshop, a portable Royal Arrow.
    I’m in the process of cleaning it up/restoring but you you’re seems to have gotten to you in great condition.

    Have you been able to find the serial number? I’ve done a little research and tried moving the basket all the way and searching under the revealed area but no luck.

    • Harry Cordner May 7, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

      I found my serial number on the rear left corner of the frame, visible after moving the carriage to the right just a little bit, right where the back case plate meets the larger wraparound part of the case. It should be a 7 digit number prefaced by a C, i.e. [C-XXXXXXX].

Leave a Reply

